Indonesian Women’s Cricket Team Bends the Philippines in its cage

TEMPO.CO, Jakarta – Chairman of the Indonesian Cricket Association (PP PCI) Central Executive, Azis Syamsuddin, appreciated the proud performance of the Indonesian women’s cricket national team at the end of 2019.

At the Women’s T20 Series, which was held at the Friendship Oval Field in Cavite Dasmarinas, Philippines, 20-23 December 2019, the Indonesian women’s cricket team under Andy Cottam was able to break the world record against the Philippine women’s cricket national team.

“Alhamduliah, Indonesian cricket has successfully closed 2019 with pride. Perfect win as well as a new world record. Next year we will perform even better to make Indonesia proud in the world arena, ”said Azis Syamsuddin in Jakarta, Monday 23 December.

“The success of this women’s team is a motivation for young Indonesian women to continue to practice and look even better. The success of these heroines is a special gift on Mother’s Day, ”added Abhiram S. Yadav, Deputy Chairperson of PP PCI.

Manager Afie Firmansyah along with Andy Cottam and Fernandes Nato, who saw the match directly stated that breaking the world record was not an easy thing like whatever his opponent was.

“Yulia and Winda played very well, they were able to stay focused even though they were tired. Not many female cricket players can score 100 runs or play up to 20 over in one match, let alone break world records, ”said Afie Firmansyah.

The Indonesian women’s cricket team currently ranks 22nd in the world. As for the ranking of the individual category, Yulia Anggraeni (95 in the world of batting category). Meanwhile, two Indonesian female players will represent the ICC world stars, namely Ni Made Putri Suwandewi and Ni Putu Ayu Nanda Sakarini in January.

This Series Match was played by the two countries 4 times in a row.

The eight players from the Philippines Women’s Team are players who have previously practiced cricket in Hong Kong. Meanwhile, Indonesia in this series has a new captain Ni Putu Ayu Nanda Sakarini and 3 other international debut players.

In the first match between Indonesia and the host, the Philippines, Indonesia dominated by blocking the Philippines with only 15 runs in the first inning. Furthermore, in the second inning, Indonesia won easily by only needing 1.4 over. One of Indonesia’s debutant players, Dara Paramitha, received 5 Wickets for 5 Runs as player of the match.

In Indonesia’s second match, which was batting first, the bat swings from Yulia Anggraeni and Kadek Winda Prastini were able to score a world record (ESPN Cricinfo’s stats / record) previously held by Kibasu and Pius from Tanzania with 183 Partnership Runs.

In fact, they also passed the men’s partnership record held by Usman Ghani and Hazratullah Zazai from Afghanistan with 236 Run. Because the new partnership record held by the opening batsmen from Indonesia is 257 Run, Yulia with 112 Run and Winda with 89 Run. Indonesia won over Filpina in the second game 260 / 1-78 / all out.

In the third match, Sunday (12/22/2019) started batting first, trying a different Indonesian line-up was opened by Bastari and Nanda Sakarini who each collected 77 Runs and 54 Runs. Indonesia finished the first inning with 217 Run. The turn of the Filipino batting team, bombarded by the best bowler from Indonesia, Putri Suwandewi collected 5 Wickets for 5 Runs. Indonesia wins over the Philippines 217/2 – 28 / all out.

The last match in the Philippines, the Red and White Cricket National Team won the toss and chose Fielding first and managed to hold the Philippines only 40 Runs. At the second Inning, the partnership between Jantralia and Rahma was able to beat back the Philippine Team 40 / all out – Indonesia 42/0. Indonesia won series with a result of 4-0.

Indonesian Women’s Cricket National Team Squad:
Manager: Afie Fiermansyah
Head Coach: Andy Cottam
Asst. Coach: Fernandes Nato
Players: Anak Agung Wife Anak Pranita Bastati, Andriani, Edenyce Krismartini Eduard, I Dewa Ayu Dara Agung Laksmi Paramitha, Jantralia, Kadek Winda Prastini, Ni Kadek Itria Rada Rani, Ni Made Putri Suwandewi, Ni Putu Ayu Nanda Sakarini, Ni Wayan Sariani, Rahmawati Dwi Pangestuti, Tazkia Hanu Dornes, Yulia Anggraeni, and Yuliana.